Wargus: How to play online

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.
Gerswin

Wargus: How to play online

Post by Gerswin »

I'm totally new to Stratagus, having just discovered it. I've downloaded Wargus but I can't seem to figure out how to play online with a friend. Can we use the "metaserver" to supply each other's IP addresses and ports?

I've searched for documentation on this but haven't been able to find anything.

Also, over on the steam group I saw a comment about games getting out of sync. Is this a common issue?

Thanks in advance for the help!
Gerswin

Re: Wargus: How to play online

Post by Gerswin »

I've made a slight bit of progress. I'm using two machines on my local network to test things out. I'm using their local IP addresses to connect (i.e. 192.168.10.100 & 192.168.10.101).

When either machine hosts, it can see the second machine trying to join ("machine2 Preparing"), but the second machine immediately gets a "map not available" error. After that, each time it tries to connect, it times out and says "Cannot reach server."

Both machines are running Wargus 2.3

Any ideas?
Gerswin

Post by Gerswin »

I've simplified it down to trying to run two instances of the game on one machine, and hosting in one instance and connecting to local host on the other. Still no dice.
Attachments
wargus.png
wargus.png (664.81 KiB) Viewed 10638 times
jarod42

Post by jarod42 »

If you try on the same machine, you have to specify the port to use (`-p` if I remember) when launching stratagus else both instance try to use the same port and it will not be possible.
Gerswin

Post by Gerswin »

Thanks! Can you (or anyone else) be specific about how to do that? Where do I put "-p", and should I specify a port? What would that look like typed out?
jarod42

Post by jarod42 »

In command line, instead of simply

Code: Select all

wargus.exe