Best game to use for research?

Eggerslolol

Best game to use for research?

Post by Eggerslolol »

Hi, I'm new to Stratagus and the forums so please go easy on me. I've managed to get Stratagus set up, using Win8 and VS2013, but now I'm looking for an actual game to use with it.

This is for a university project where I'm going to be experimenting with the AI.

What would be the best game to use with Stratagus? I initially thought Wargus but I'd need a Warcraft 2 CD? Any suggestions would be appreciated.
cybermind

Re: Best game to use for research?

Post by cybermind »

You can use Aleona's tales, which is freely available at https://launchpad.net/tales/+download
Kyran

Post by Kyran »

Check out my Wargus scripts for some interesting AI examples. You won't be able to directly copy and paste these scripts to work with Aleona's Tales however.

We have some tutorials and such in our education section. Most of that stuff is rather old. For a very quick introduction to AI you can check out my Campaign Tutorial.
04:27 jim4 why haven't you added wc1 support? this project sucks. i'm only going to use freecraft
05:06 jim4 finished wc1 support yet? i've been waiting for 6 years
05:10 jim4 new things scare me
Eggerslolol

Post by Eggerslolol »

Aleona's Tales sounds good, I'll try to get that set up.

Thanks for the links too, they look helpful. For the future, if I need help setting up/have questions about using/modding the engine, is this the right place to post?
Eggerslolol

Post by Eggerslolol »

Got it running with a stratagus.exe that I've compiled myself, but trying to run/debug it through Visual Studio it always fails early with this as the final output:

Code: Select all

The program '[8860] stratagus.exe' has exited with code -1 (0xffffffff).
This is preceded by a big bunch of:

'stratagus.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\SysWOW64\imm32.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.