Page 3 of 4

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:32 am
by francot514
Thanks for your help, now i was able to convert some stuff for this archive, now i want to ask you something, how to allow fly unit "Gnomish inventor" based to attack...

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:22 am
by b_o
Those are funny units..

I would think you could just open up the units.lua and find an attacking unit, and copy the relevant portions to the unit you want to make to attack. So you might add these if you wanted it to attack like a catapult:

Code: Select all

Missile = "missile-catapult-rock",
  MinAttackRange = 2, MaxAttackRange = 8, 
  RightMouseAction = "attack",
  CanGroundAttack = true,
  CanAttack = true,
  CanTargetLand = true, CanTargetSea = true,

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:37 am
by francot514
Ok, dont know why, but the "bomber" unit cannot cause damage, it can target enemies, but do not show missile shooting or cause any damage, even when i used a dragon base for doing the custom unit...

Also for example i want to allow a troll be a shaman that can use magic...

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:56 am
by b_o
There is a setting for damage that I didn't include in the example code, look through all of the code in the units and try to make sense of all the info there. You could try making an exact copy of the dragon, then change the name, icon, graphics, and animation tag. Or for magic, make an exact copy of a magic using unit, then change the graphics, animation, name and icon.

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:05 am
by francot514
You have tried to do that??? becuase it do not work, even if adding buttons for attack, upgrades to allow spell, simple do not attack, or no cast the spell...

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 11:50 am
by b_o
I haven't tried it. Maybe post the section for that unit from the units.lua here so it can be seen ?

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 5:48 am
by francot514
Ok, here you go, code for booth units causing problem.. Also the buttons and spells need to be changed??

Code: Select all

DefineUnitType("unit-fighter", { Name = "Fighter",
  Image = {"file", "neutral/units/bomber.png", "size", {80, 80}},
  Animations = "animations-balloon", Icon = "icon-gnomish-flying-machine",
  Costs = {"time", 250, "gold", 2500},
  Speed = 14,
  HitPoints = 100,
  DrawLevel = 60,
  TileSize = {2, 2}, BoxSize = {71, 71},
  SightRange = 6, ComputerReactionRange = 8, PersonReactionRange = 6,
  Armor = 5, BasicDamage = 0, PiercingDamage = 16, Missile = "missile-catapult-rock",
  MaxAttackRange = 4,
  Priority = 65,
  Points = 150,
  Demand = 1,
  Type = "fly", ShadowFly = {Value = 0, Enable = true},
  RightMouseAction = "attack",
  CanAttack = true,
  CanTargetLand = true, CanTargetSea = true, CanTargetAir = true,
  AirUnit = true,
  DetectCloak = true,
  organic = true,
  SelectableByRectangle = true,
  Sounds = {
    "selected", "gnomish-flying-machine-selected",
    "acknowledge", "gnomish-flying-machine-acknowledge",
    "ready", "gnomish-flying-machine-ready",
    "help", "basic human voices help 1",
    "dead", "explosion"} } )

Code: Select all

DefineUnitType("unit-shaman", { Name = "Troll Shaman",
  Image = {"file", "neutral/units/shaman.png", "size", {72, 72}},
  Animations = "animations-sharp-axe", Icon = "icon-sharp-axe",
  Costs = {"time", 70, "gold", 500, "wood", 50},
  Speed = 10,
  HitPoints = 120,
  DrawLevel = 40,
  Mana = {Enable = true},
  TileSize = {1, 1}, BoxSize = {36, 36},
  SightRange = 9, ComputerReactionRange = 7, PersonReactionRange = 5,
  Armor = 5, BasicDamage = 10, PiercingDamage = 18, Missile = "missile-axe",
  MaxAttackRange = 5,
  Priority = 55,
  Points = 120,
  Demand = 1,
  Corpse = "unit-orc-dead-body",
  Type = "land",
  RightMouseAction = "attack",
  CanAttack = true,
  CanTargetLand = true, CanTargetSea = true, CanTargetAir = true,
  CanCastSpell = {
      "spell-death-coil",
      "spell-haste",
      "spell-raise-dead"},
  LandUnit = true,
  hero = true,
  organic = true,
  SelectableByRectangle = true,
  Sounds = {
    "selected", "zuljin-selected",
    "acknowledge", "zuljin-acknowledge",
--    "ready", "zuljin-ready",
    "help", "basic orc voices help 1",
    "dead", "basic orc voices dead"} } )

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 3:17 pm
by b_o
For the first one, I need to see the section from anim.lua for "animations-balloon".. The attack command is supposed to be included in the attack animation code, so if you use animation code from a unit which doesn't have an attack, it will never attack even if you tell it elsewhere that it can. buttons should be located in buttons.lua

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Sat May 02, 2015 5:39 am
by francot514
Thats the think, balloon, does have attack animation but is this one

Code: Select all

DefineAnimations("animations-balloon", {
  Still = {"frame 0", "wait 1", "frame 5", "wait 1", "frame 5", "wait 1",
    "frame 0", "wait 1", },
  Move = {"unbreakable begin", "frame 5", "move 4", "wait 1", "frame 5", "move 3", "wait 1",
    "frame 5", "move 3", "wait 1", "frame 0", "move 3", "wait 1",
    "frame 0", "move 3", "wait 1", "frame 5", "move 4", "wait 1",
    "frame 5", "move 3", "wait 1", "frame 5", "move 3", "wait 1",
    "frame 0", "move 3", "wait 1", "frame 0", "move 3", "unbreakable end", "wait 1", },
  Attack = {"unbreakable begin", "frame 0", "unbreakable end", "wait 1", },
  Death = {"unbreakable begin", "frame 0", "unbreakable end", "wait 1", },
})

And for the the spell usage is same thing??? animations requiered?=

Re: Warcraft II Mod Archive

Posted: Sat May 02, 2015 7:35 am
by b_o
It was missing the attack command, try replacing it with this,

Code: Select all

DefineAnimations("animations-balloon", {
  Still = {"frame 0", "wait 1", "frame 5", "wait 1", "frame 5", "wait 1",
    "frame 0", "wait 1", },
  Move = {"unbreakable begin", "frame 5", "move 4", "wait 1", "frame 5", "move 3", "wait 1",
    "frame 5", "move 3", "wait 1", "frame 0", "move 3", "wait 1",
    "frame 0", "move 3", "wait 1", "frame 5", "move 4", "wait 1",
    "frame 5", "move 3", "wait 1", "frame 5", "move 3", "wait 1",
    "frame 0", "move 3", "wait 1", "frame 0", "move 3", "unbreakable end", "wait 1", },
  Attack = {"unbreakable begin", 
                "frame 0", "wait 3",                                                  --aim 
                "frame 0", "attack", "sound catapult-attack", "wait 5",   --attack     
                "frame 0", "wait 5",                                                  -- cooldown
                "frame 0", "unbreakable end", "wait 1", },
  Death = {"unbreakable begin", "frame 0", "unbreakable end", "wait 1", },
})
But change this in the section I posted:

Code: Select all

"sound catapult-attack",
to use the sound you want to use, or just delete it. I don't know what the sounds are labeled as in your game.

But realize that any unit which uses the new animation code will think that it can attack. So you might want to make the new animation code as a separate section used only by the attacking type of unit. but if there are no other units which use this code, then just replace it.

Not sure about the spells, I think for spells you need to deal with buttons.lua, or spells.lua or both. I haven't done much with them before.