Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

WIP aims to Wargus, while maintaining the game's ambience and gameplay experience.
User avatar
b_o
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:07 pm

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby b_o » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:38 am

Andrettin wrote:That is indeed a possibility, but wouldn't it make peasants carry wood after digging (which could seem a bit strange); and they would also need a town hall in order to keep digging.
Which is why I'm wondering if their collection sprite can be changed to the sack of gold in that tileset, and if we can change the amount of resource collected to 0 in a specific tileset or level. Also, if you can change the amount of resource collected to 0, wouldn't it not display anything being carried?
User avatar
Kargath
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:19 pm

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby Kargath » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:41 am

Why don't use rocks instead of trees?
User avatar
b_o
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:07 pm

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby b_o » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:52 am

Kargath wrote:Why don't use rocks instead of trees?
I was actually thinking of using both. I don't think there were any peasants in the dungeon levels in WC1, so the harvesting logs problem is not really an issue. I was thinking of putting webs on some of the walls, so more tiles for the dirt walls is better.
User avatar
Kargath
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:19 pm

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby Kargath » Tue Aug 13, 2013 6:32 am

Is possible to modify the engine and use cliffs like Starcraft?
User avatar
Andrettin
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:58 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby Andrettin » Tue Aug 13, 2013 7:35 am

b_o wrote: Which is why I'm wondering if their collection sprite can be changed to the sack of gold in that tileset, and if we can change the amount of resource collected to 0 in a specific tileset or level. Also, if you can change the amount of resource collected to 0, wouldn't it not display anything being carried?
It seems to me that changing the collection sprite to a sack of gold for a particular tileset would require some workarounds. I'm not sure what changing the amount of resource collected to 0 would do, but I imagine it would likely have either of these results: 1. The peasant begins carrying wood as soon as it starts to harvest or 2. The game crashes. In any case, as you mentioned it, there were no (IIRC) peasants in the WC1 campaign scenarios.

I don't think you even need to define trees for the tileset, though. You could just define the "rocks" (cave walls), "grass" (cobblestone), "dirt" (cave floor), the dungeon walls and the wall-rock/dirt transition tiles. The only reason why you would need to define trees, AFAIK, is if you wanted maps made for other tilesets to be convertible to dungeon maps on the fly.
Kargath wrote:Is possible to modify the engine and use cliffs like Starcraft?
It should be possible, but it would probably require quite a bit of work, and modifying the source code itself.
User avatar
b_o
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:07 pm

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby b_o » Tue Aug 13, 2013 8:57 am

Andrettin wrote:I don't think you even need to define trees for the tileset, though. You could just define the "rocks" (cave walls), "grass" (cobblestone), "dirt" (cave floor), the dungeon walls and the wall-rock/dirt transition tiles. The only reason why you would need to define trees, AFAIK, is if you wanted maps made for other tilesets to be convertible to dungeon maps on the fly.
Good points. So when you define say (cave walls) so that they are just solid and unharvestable, where would you change how each tile connects to other tiles, like with borders and such? Is there a way to make it so it doesn't connect to anything but is placed one tile at a time rather than in a paintbrush fashion, and then select manually which tiles are solid and passable? The reason I am concerned is that I'm considering enlarging the 16*16 tiles to 32*32, in which case, one face of a cave wall might take 3 tiles from ground to top, and such an arrangement is not similar to any of the current terrains in how they function in the map editor. Another thing I was wondering was that if BOSwars can use tile patches, can we just take one of those large images of the entire map, and call it a single tile patch? obviously those full map images would have to be altered to remove destructible's and such, which would then have destructible things placed on top of the large image at the appropriate locations.
Andrettin wrote:
Kargath wrote:Is possible to modify the engine and use cliffs like Starcraft?
It should be possible, but it would probably require quite a bit of work, and modifying the source code itself.
I thought aleona tales already had cliffs.
User avatar
Kargath
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:19 pm

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby Kargath » Tue Aug 13, 2013 9:44 pm

If you have and/or like Warcraft 3, there is a nice remake of the original game here: http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/maps ... 26page%3D2 http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/maps ... 26page%3D2
User avatar
Andrettin
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:58 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby Andrettin » Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:51 pm

b_o wrote:I thought aleona tales already had cliffs.
There are cliff graphics, but they don't seem to be defined in the tileset lua. In any case, what I meant by it being quite a bit of work was in regards to the way cliffs work in Starcraft 2 - with the possibility of cliff jumping and etc.
User avatar
Kargath
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:19 pm

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby Kargath » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:00 am

For maps, do you use War2 editor? If maps are done simply with the war2 editor, I can help with some maps. How do I use Warcraft 1 with HQX?
User avatar
Kyran
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Wargus Warcraft 1 Recreation

Postby Kyran » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:33 am

Kargath wrote:For maps, do you use War2 editor? If maps are done simply with the war2 editor, I can help with some maps. How do I use Warcraft 1 with HQX?
The War2 editor works nicely for Stratagus.
04:27 jim4 why haven't you added wc1 support? this project sucks. i'm only going to use freecraft
05:06 jim4 finished wc1 support yet? i've been waiting for 6 years
05:10 jim4 new things scare me

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest