Turreted Units?

shedeen
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:54 am
Location: United States

Turreted Units?

Postby shedeen » Thu May 15, 2014 8:56 am

In games like Command & Conquer there are vehicles that use separate turrets to track and fire at targets. In fact, even Starcraft had turreted units like the Siege Tank and Missile Turret. I'm wondering if something similar would be possible to do in Stratagus? Futuristic games like Bos Wars and Stargus would probably benefit from this because it would make units like tanks more believable. I don't know if this would be possible with Lua; I'm assuming it would only be doable with C code.

What do ya think?
User avatar
cybermind
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:43 pm

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby cybermind » Thu May 15, 2014 3:12 pm

Currently Stratagus doesn't support this in any form, we need to modify engine itself. I'm currently the only active developer of Stratagus, so we need more programmers to be interested in it.
shedeen
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:54 am
Location: United States

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby shedeen » Fri May 16, 2014 6:20 am

Interesting. I'd be happy to help with the engine any way I can - I've got some experience in C++ (but I'm definitely no expert), but I may need some help getting it to compile at all. All the stuff I've done so far has just been just modifying Aleona's Tales. Is there a better set of instructions on compiling somewhere? I've read the instructions on the official page but I found them to be a bit vague.

By the way, I seem to recall Bos Wars has a turreted defense tower of some kind. Perhaps that could be adapted for mobile units?
User avatar
cybermind
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:43 pm

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby cybermind » Sat May 17, 2014 2:12 am

Here is my Skype: iddqd_skype, just add me and I'll try to describe all compilation progress :)
shedeen wrote:By the way, I seem to recall Bos Wars has a turreted defense tower of some kind. Perhaps that could be adapted for mobile units?
Because buildings are immobile, you can use their direction as rotation angle for turret. And if you would make that building mobile, you'll see that it's turret will always look at the direction where building "moves"
shedeen
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:54 am
Location: United States

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby shedeen » Sat May 17, 2014 9:08 am

Thanks, give me a couple days to set up Skype on my computer and then I'll add you. I'm eager to start working on this engine!
cybermind wrote:Because buildings are immobile, you can use their direction as rotation angle for turret. And if you would make that building mobile, you'll see that it's turret will always look at the direction where building "moves"
Ah, makes sense. It was worth a shot :P
User avatar
Andrettin
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:58 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby Andrettin » Thu May 22, 2014 6:59 pm

cybermind wrote:Currently Stratagus doesn't support this in any form, we need to modify engine itself. I'm currently the only active developer of Stratagus, so we need more programmers to be interested in it.
I actually know some C++. The only reason why I haven't worked on the engine itself is because I wasn't able to compile Stratagus. If I were able to do so, I suppose I could help with implementing features or fixing bugs.
User avatar
cybermind
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:43 pm

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby cybermind » Thu May 22, 2014 9:03 pm

I have posted my Skype above. Just add me and I'll tell you how to compile Stratagus step by step :)
User avatar
Andrettin
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:58 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby Andrettin » Thu May 29, 2014 9:41 pm

cybermind wrote:Here is my Skype: iddqd_skype, just add me and I'll try to describe all compilation progress :)
Thanks cybermind, that's very kind of you :)

Right now I'm not at home and my internet is extremely slow here, but once I get back this weekend I'll add you on Skype.
User avatar
Andrettin
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:58 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby Andrettin » Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:07 pm

Hey cybermind, when I searched for you on Skype, I got three results: "cybermind", "iddqd_" and "IDDQD 4 on Skype". I then added the "cybermind" one as a contact on Skype. I just re-sent you the contact addition invitation.
User avatar
Andrettin
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:58 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Turreted Units?

Postby Andrettin » Mon Jun 09, 2014 3:12 am

Stratagus compiled and running! Thanks for helping me with this, cybermind!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests